A Laydee rejected as novelist – manuscripts unread

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author
    Martin W
    Participant

After I've had occasional bum rejections from editors to whom I've sent story ideas, had to laugh at story re "A Laydee" being turned down by most publishers that manuscripts sent to. At least once,I've figured my ideas went unread despite the "not quite right for us I'm afraid" rejection note. Once, I received a rather pompous reply saying the magazine only accepted articles from people who were experts in their field: I wrote back saying I was an expert (on bird migration in China), and received response saying the first letter was from intern who had left the mag – and leading to my doing an article for the magazine.

On, then, to "Alison Laydee" aka would-be-novelist David Lassman. As explained in The Times:

Quote:
      Mr Lassman, 43, had spent months trying without success to find a publisher for his own novel Freedom’s Temple. Out of frustration – and to test whether today’s publishers could spot great literature – he retyped the opening chapters of three Austen classics: Pride and Prejudice, Northanger Abbey and Persuasion.

He changed only the titles, the names of the characters and his own name – calling himself Alison Laydee, after Austen’s early pseudonym “A Lady” – then waited for the offers to roll in. Instead he received yet another sheaf of rejection letters, including one from Penguin, which republished Pride and Prejudice last year, describing his plagarised chapters as “a really original and interesting read” but not right for Penguin. [good grief: not just liars, but pompous to boot!] …