Journalism even scarier in digital era

• This topic is empty.
Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

Excellent article on the Atlantic website reflects on the business of writing and publishing journalism – and why writers may be asked to contribute for free.

Prompted by a blog post form a writer annoyed to be asked to let the Atlantic repurpose a big article for free, though includes a whole lot more info, and reflections on writing as work.

The blog post, by Nate Thayer, is A Day in the Life of a Freelance Journalist—2013, and covers exchange of emails between him and an editor at the Atlantic.

Includes, from editor:

Quote:
    We unfortunately can’t pay you for it, but we do reach 13 million readers a month.

and Thayer response:

Quote:
    I am a professional journalist who has made my living by writing for 25 years and am not in the habit of giving my services for free to for profit media outlets so they can make money by using my work and efforts by removing my ability to pay my bills and feed my children.

The lengthy article on Atlantic site is by Alexis C. Madrigal, and includes:

Quote:
    I'm glad Thayer's post has garnered him lots of attention. He is a great journalist and I genuinely hope the spotlight gets him more work. Don't get me wrong. I'm still incensed by what he did, but I want journalists to prosper because I believe, like he does, that what we do is vital.

The main way to sell ads is to go "cross-platform" pairing digital with print and whatever else (events or video, say). This is what "the marketplace" is asking for. So you need ad inventory online. In some cases, like ours or Wired's, you need a lot of ad inventory online. It is a little more complicated than this, but that means you need page views, and if you want page views, you need people coming to your site. You need unique visitors.